June 28, 2013

What is the Wheel of Life?

     Have you ever wondered about the wheel in the center of the flag of India? It's called the dharma chakra, the Buddhist wheel of life.  It's one of the oldest symbols you will find in Indian art. If you know a thing or two about India, you know the history goes way back. The 24 spokes represent the 24 hours in a day. Dharma is the Buddha's teaching of the path of enlightenment.
     While in India, I'll look for the dharma chakra symbol. Pics will be posted.

1 comment:

Brian Miller said...

smiles. have fun on your trip....